Advertise with us!!
Current Posts

Snow Angels by Sabrina York

Snow Angels
By: Sabrina York
Publisher: Decadent Publishing Company
Published: December 1, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: Novella
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Dana
Date: April 5, 2015

 

The last thing Wade Masters wants on his month-long getaway to his sister’s wilderness cabin is company. A wounded warrior, Wade is looking for complete isolation to deal with the tragedy of his life and his screaming guilt.

But company he gets, in the form of Lyssa Salk, a spunky, diminutive massage therapist. Who says she can talk to dead people.

Trapped together in the snowbound cabin, Wade and Lyssa have little else to do but help each other heal, spiritually, physically and sexually.


Wade is coming off a long recuperation period, and after agreeing to be Mr. December for his friends' Wounded Vets calendar campaign, Wade just needs a little privacy. Especially from the stalkery-ish women who have been showing up in the most unexpected of places (like naked in his bed) all for a piece of him. So escaping to his sister Val's remote country cabin with his war wounded dog, seems like a good idea. Until she shows up with...that.

Lyssa is escaping her past, and her best friend Val has generously shared the use of her "empty" remote country cabin until Lyssa can get back on her feet again. Except when she arrives at the cabin with her furry cat in tow, she's horrified to see that the cabin isn't as empty as she had hoped.

Wade wasn't expecting anyone, but when Lyssa walked in, his body parts that had been "dead' for a year, suddenly spring back to life. However, he thinks that she is just another stalker after him because he was a Calendar man, so he's less than chivalrous. When Lyssa explains that her car is stuck in a snow ditch, and that she walked a mile to the house, Wade relents and lets her stay the night. When the truth comes out that Val has set them up, Wade is less wary of Lyssa, but he can't shake the ghost of his dead girlfriend, and the fact that Lyssa talks to herself, still makes Wade keep his distance.

Wade is still in extreme pain from almost being blown in two, and when Lyssa offers to massage away the pain, he asks her if she is a Physical Therapist. Her non-committal answer, and her magic hands has him believing he was right. Until Lyssa finally confesses that she is a Healer, and that she is a medium, of sorts.

This is where the book got a little too Sixth Sense for me. I am not a fan of characters who can "heal" the sick with their magic touch, or speak to the dead. But, I overlooked it because of the chemistry that Wade and Lyssa had. Both had baggage that they were dealing with (more than just the clothes they brought with them) and together they are able to deal with it, not to mention consume mass amounts of bacon together.

I enjoyed this book, and I loved that it took the pair a while before they jumped in the sack together. The author did a great job of shedding background light on the characters, as well as having them try and be friends before they became lovers.

I'm a huge fan of Sabrina York, and I've read other works of hers where the character jump each other before getting to know each other, and I liked that she changed it up a bit in this story.


STEELE: Into Your Heart by Rie Warren

STEELE: Into Your Heart (Carolina Bad Boys #3)
By: Rie Warren
Publisher: Rie Warren
Published: April 2, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance
Content: M/F, Anal Play, Anal Sex, Oral Sex
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Scorching
Reviewer: Marchelle
Date: April 4, 2015

 

Brodie Steele is a badass MC dude. Ashe Kingston is a sexy police officer with an attitude. Their bad blood runs deep. But after they hook up at a wild biker week, can they keep their pact? What happens at Bike Week stays at Bike Week. Yeah, right.

Riding out the rough years following a family tragedy, Brodie is still trying to put his life back together when he finds something he never expected with Ashe. She annoys the ever lovin’ hell out of him, and turns him on so much he can’t see straight. He keeps coming back for more.

Ashe isn’t just a hard-nosed police officer. And she wants no part of Brodie outside of their no-strings-attached fling. There’s no way he’s settling-down material but he’s hard to resist with his inked sleeves and rebellious ways, not to mention piercings in places that make Ashe melt. Brodie Steele is dangerous, delicious, and suddenly determined to have her.

If there’s anything more risky than laying his heart on the line for this sexy woman, it’s Ashe’s job. It puts her life in danger in a way he can’t possibly protect her from. Can their hot bond win out over the bad blood of years past? Or will Ashe be taken from Brodie before she lets him into her heart?


This book got 5 stars from me, only because there is no option for more than that. Let’s just call it 5 plus. I eagerly and not too patiently awaited the release of this book so when I was offered a copy to review before the release date, I jumped at the chance. About two paragraphs in and I knew Rie Warren had done it again! This book is part of a series and although it can be read as a stand alone, with compelling characters, believable plots and steaming hot sex, you would have to be crazy not to devour every single one. Rie Warren weaves a story around you so that before you realize it, you are sucked in and it is as if you are living it with them. The characters become part of your family and you feel everything they feel.

Brodie sees Officer Ashe Kingston dancing in a bar during Bike Week and is beyond shocked to find the sexy dancer is the same woman who destroyed his family. Still, he is drawn to her. He really doesn’t want to be. They agree that with their history, it would be a mistake to get involved. That doesn’t mean they can’t have a good time during Bike Week before they go back to their separate lives.

Brodie Steele is the ultimate bad boy. He is VP of a motorcycle club, is a total badass, has women tripping over themselves to sleep with him (thanks in part to a couple of strategically placed piercings) and he would do anything to protect the people he loves. He is a good brother and has a great relationship with his sister Cat and his brother Boomer. He is sexy, strong and he has a huge heart. There are several times when he shows his softer side and it’s enough to melt your heart. I can’t imagine anyone who reads this book not falling in love with Brodie.

I love the fact that Rie Warren never abandons her characters. Each book builds on the one before it so that her characters lives are progressing as the new characters are introduced. Her plots are not left unfinished and her readers are not left wondering “whatever happened to…?”. Josh and Leelee, Cat and Nick, and Nick’s grandmother all have their places in this book without overshadowing the main story of Ashe and Brodie. Up until Brodie came along, Nick was my favorite “Carolina Bad Boy”, so I was glad to get an update on his life with Cat.

I have to admit, I read this book really slowly because I never wanted it to end. I savored every word and when I was done, immediately started it again. I am a huge fan of Rie Warren and this series. I don’t know how she does it but everything she writes is simply amazing. Every time I think it can’t get any better, she tops her best and blows my mind. I can’t wait to read Boomer’s story.

Storms in a Shot Glass by Zee Monodee

Storms in a Shot Glass (Destiny’s Child #2)
By: Zee Monodee
Publisher: Decadent Publishing Company
Published: October 21, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Marchelle
Date: March 21, 2015

 

A little bump is about to make a lot of ripples...

The quiet, orderly life of personal assistant Jane Smithers takes a ninety-degree turn the day she finds out she accidentally got pregnant from a one-night stand. This is one complication she doesn't need, especially when one knows her world is peopled by lunatic Russian models, an immature boss posing as a CEO, and a mother who would make shark-infested waters look like a midsummer country pond.

The world of corporate lawyer and billionaire tycoon Michael Rinaldi is ruled by cold, hard logic, and straight-on facts. Until the day he meets Jane, and suddenly he has no idea why this insignificant-looking woman has the knack of plunging him head-first into the churning waters of tempestuous emotion and hot-headed impulse.

The last thing either needs is to get tangled in a tabloid frenzy.

Throw in a baby neither thought they wanted and add a dash of very gossipy scandal, and suddenly Jane and Michael realize that the world as they've known it so far will never be the same again.

But will they be able to live with this reality?


Jane Smithers is pregnant. She had a drunken, one night stand on New Years Eve with her engaged neighbor that she barely remembers. Being that her life is always neat and orderly, finding out she is pregnant completely knocks her off balance. She has enough people in her life pulling her in all directions, including her needy and seemingly incompetent boss and her pushy, demanding mother who seems to be more concerned with keeping up appearances than her daughter’s happiness. A baby is the last thing she needs at this point in her life. And being a single parent will bring a whole different set of problems.

When Jane meets Michael Rinaldi, she doesn’t want to like him. He’s a bossy, alpha male who only adds to her headaches by announcing he is the father of the baby to her family and friends. He’s also the estranged son of her current boss and his claiming of the baby causes problems for Jane personally and professionally. When a nosy reporter employs some underhanded methods to dig up dirt on the couple and publishes it in a gossip magazine, both their lives get turned upside down. Jane wants to protect Michael from the gossip and protect his reputation. Michael doesn’t care about any of that, only wanting to be there for Jane and her baby but making her realize that is the real challenge.

This is a true romance in every sense of the word. Jane and Michael both have poor role models when it comes to love and romance. Her mother has numerous marriages behind her and is portrayed as shallow and vain. She cares only about herself and can make any situation about her. Michael’s resentment towards his father stems from the man’s abandonment of his wife and young son. Despite all that, they find each other and have strong feelings that cannot be denied. Their desire to protect each other and their unwillingness to admit their love for each other almost rip them apart but their love is obvious in everything they do.

This is a very well written and entertaining story. It's unlike any book I’ve read before. I thought the story was original and I loved that the characters had depth and were believable. For Jane, her emotions were chaotic, without making her appear out of control. When dealing with her mother she would be sad one minute and angry the next. With Michael, he would be arguing with his father and then become caring and attentive in the next instant when Jane needed him.

This is the first book I’ve read by this author and I look forward to reading more from her. This is a very enjoyable read and I would definitely recommend it.


It’s Complicated by Joyce M. Holmes

It’s Complicated
By: Joyce M. Holmes
Publisher: Sweet Cravings Publishing
Published: April 28, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Sensual
Reviewer: Marchelle
Date: March 21, 2015

 

Having grown up with no one but herself to count on, Maggie Lapage carefully guards her feelings. Professionally, she goes above and beyond to give others the support she wishes she'd had as a child. When she develops a forbidden attraction to a client, she does what she thinks is necessary, to save his family and to protect her own heart.

Tom O’Shay finds his life caught in a nightmare when he risks losing custody of his daughter. It goes against his character to seek help, but he doesn’t have a choice. That doesn’t mean he has to like it. Everything changes when he falls hard for his daughter’s counselor and he suddenly has two fights on his hands. One for his daughter and another for the woman he loves.

He wants a real relationship, she's afraid to love. It’s complicated, but is it impossible?


Maggie Lapage is a youth counselor working at an outreach program assisting children and families in need. Tom O’Shay is a struggling artist who is not only struggling to make a living but also having a difficult time with his young daughter, Hailey. His ex-wife recently died, leaving custody of the child to her wealthy parents, Sebastian and Agnes Devetrie, in a final act of spite against him. His former in-laws, besides being filthy rich, are not his biggest fans and are doing everything they can to turn his daughter against him. He quickly gets a court order granting him temporary custody and on the advice of his lawyer, seeks a therapist to help Hailey deal with her feelings and all the changes she is being subjected to. Hailey is angry and confused about everything that is happening. She is acting out against her father and his heart is breaking for the pain his daughter is in. He just wants to help her through this difficult time and prove to her that he loves her more than anything, no matter what her grandmother tells her.

Maggie, although young, has a great deal of experience dealing with troubled kids and seems like the perfect solution. She is caring and kind while at the same time she is straightforward, direct and sometimes painfully honest. She begins working with Tom and his daughter and quickly becomes an advocate for keeping them together. However, while helping them, her own life seems to be taking some rocky turns. To make matters worse, personally, she wants to see Tom on a personal basis, but as a client, he is off limits. She can lose her job and everything she’s worked for if she pursues him.


Maggie is a great character. She is the perfect mix of a strong woman with a vulnerable side. She isn’t afraid to take what she wants or needs. The fact that she is passionate about helping people makes her likeable. When she speaks to the gallery owner about Tom’s paintings much to his annoyance and tells Tom what she has done on his behalf, he gets angry and they argue. She is unapologetic because she firmly believes what she was doing was for his own good. That was one of the best scenes in the book in my opinion. She is feisty and opinionated and stubborn but she truly has a heart of gold. She is very real. She also doesn't learn a lesson from Tom’s anger with her and continues to meddle in other aspects of his life.


I found this book very well-written and I loved the story. The characters were believable and true to life. I even found myself rooting for Nora, Maggie’s mom, and having a grudging respect for Sebastian Devetrie.


Disclosure as Per the FTC Guidlines:
All books reviewed at Got Romance! Reviews have been provided by the Publishers or Authors for free. Got Romance! Reviews has not been compensated for any reviews.
Got Romance! Reviews does not own any images, book covers or portraits on the site.
Book Cover images are from the various authors, pubishers or Goodreads
Elvin Pin-Up art were acquired from Elvgren PinUp
Hilga Pun-Up art were acquired from Toilgirls
Elvin and Hilga copyrights owned by Brown and Bigelow
Copyright © 2011. Got Romance! Reviews - All Rights Reserved
Template Creater | Proudly powered by Blogger