Advertise with us!!
Current Posts

One Sinful Night by Stacey Kennedy

One Sinful Night
By: Stacey Kennedy
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Published: December 28, 2011
Genre: Contemporary, Anthology, Erotic Romance, Paranormal
Content: M/F, M/M, M/M/F, Ménage, BDSM, Spanking, Bondage, Rope Play, D/s, Anal Play, Anal Sex, Oral Sex, Toys
Length: Short Story, Novel
Heat Level: Scorching
Reviewer: Toni
Date: September 16, 2014

 

Where fantasies become a sinful reality

One Sinful Night features the following novellas by Stacey Kennedy…

Shadowed Soul
Forever Bound
Takedown
Somewhere in Between
All She Wants for Christmas is Her Dom


One Sinful Night features the following novellas by Stacey Kennedy…

Shadowed Soul – After reading Shadowed Soul I was left wanting more. Bryce went into his date with more than a standard one night stand idea. His purpose was kind of noble in a twisted kind of way, but something about Ellie changes him. I loved that it started with a new idea, and seemed to be on track for most of the story, but suddenly at the end it changes. I wish it would have been written with a sense of building confusion within himself instead of an instant “a-ha” moment. Shadowed Soul was still a very nice read that was smoking hot! –3.5 Hearts

Forever Bound – WOW! I’ve never read a 1NS story like this one. Josie and Gavin had an explosive night that I didn’t see coming. While it was whirlwind night, it was also wonderful. If you are shy about BDSM then you may want to go ahead with caution. Gavin really knows how to push the envelope. What a nice happy ending. – 5 Hearts

Takedown – I have to say that I didn’t connect with the story or the characters at first. The foreplay didn’t do anything for me. The after scene actually brought it all back up for me. Wyatt and Rye had an unconventional date, which also threw me off. The reason behind the “date” was 100% spot on, but it just felt out of the norm for me with a 1NS story. Takedown was still well worth it and after reading the next two stories it tied in very well. – 3.5 Hearts

Somewhere in Between – This is the oddest 1NS I think I have read. When I read books in this series, I expect the people to go on dates that may or may not go over 24 hours. This story had a long build up and then the final hooked up. It was a very enjoyable story, but I really wouldn’t consider it a standalone. I think it must be read with its prequel “Takedown”. It really helps Takedown become a much better story, then when it is read alone. – 4 Hearts

All She Wants for Christmas is Her Dom – You could say that Takedown, Somewhere in Between and All She Wants for Christmas is a Her Dom is a trilogy set. It was especially nice to be able to read them all together. When I was done, it was almost like the first two stories in this collection didn’t belong in this book. All She Wants for Christmas is Her Dom is a great little story. You aren’t really sure what is going on, but it is very worth the wait for when it plays out it is something special. – 4 Hearts

At time the mix seemed odd, but in the end I really enjoyed the anthology. Ms. Kennedy wrote some very different and fun additions to the 1NS series. Sexy, different and all around sinful. What a pleasure!


Fire Me Up by Kimberly Kincaid

Fire Me Up
By: Kimberly Kincaid
Publisher: Zebra
Published: February 3 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Toni
Date: November 14, 2014

 

If You Can’t Stand The Heat…

Teagan O’Malley can handle a crisis. She’s a paramedic, it’s her job. But she never expected to land in the kitchen of her father’s pub, with no notice, no cash, and no room for error. The kitchen is not her favorite place. Lucky for her, she just scraped a bad-boy chef off the pavement after a motorcycle accident—and something about him says he can turn up the heat in more ways than one.

Adrian Holt has had a rough few years, and he’s not eager to get tangled up in anything more complicated than a good risotto. But with a broken arm and a head full of bad memories, he needs a challenge to keep him sane. Teagan’s dare-me attitude and smoldering mess of a bar are just what the doctor ordered. And the two of them together might cook up some even better medicine…


Adrian has been the big silent type since the beginning; ever menacing and the reader never quite knowing what to expect the man. His story is my favorite yet!

Adrian has been a part of the series from the beginning. Always stealing the limelight, but never demanding it. With his quiet presence, he demanded order and obedience in his kitchen, but due to one wrong move, he’s a man floundering with no purpose.

Something is not right at Teagan’s family bar. The vibe is off and people are not showing up for work. Not to mention her father is looking not his best. Worried about the state of things, she takes a leave of absence and is determined to get things back in order. Too bad she stinks in the kitchen and things are far worse than she ever expected.

With Adrian without a kitchen and Teagan without a cook, they take on a taxing relationship. Teagan who would burn water is going to cook in the kitchen while Adrian supervises. Soon things take a sharp turn for the worse and Adrian needs to guard his heart and his position in life. He is also a man who won’t let people down. With a plan and a way, they are going to get the bar back on track. Who knows what will happen along the way to these two lonely people who always thought they were fine going on in life on their own.

I loved Adrian and Teagan. They had amazing chemistry and Ms. Kincaid made magic on the pages with these two. Both are very stubborn and they fight their attraction the whole way, but when they connect, it’s spectacular! Ms. Kincaid has written such a great story and it sounds like she is going to keep on giving with the next story being about the mysterious Nick Brennan.


The Masterful Mr. Montague by Stephanie Laurens

The Masterful Mr. Montague: A Casebook of Barnaby Adair Novel
By: Stephanie Laurens
Publisher: Avon
Published: April 29, 2014
Genre: Historical, Action/Adventure, Mystery, Romance, Science Fiction, Suspense
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Suki
Date: January 24, 2015

 

Montague has devoted his life to managing the wealth of London's elite, but at a huge cost: a family of his own. Then the enticing Miss Violet Matcham seeks his help, and in the puzzle she presents him, he finds an intriguing new challenge professionally ... and personally.

Violet, devoted lady-companion to the aging Lady Halstead, turns to Montague to reassure her ladyship that her affairs are in order. But the famous Montague is not at all what she'd expected - this man is compelling, decisive, supportive, and strong - everything Violet needs in a champion, a position to which Montague rapidly lays claim.

But then Lady Halstead is murdered and Violet and Montague, aided by Barnaby Adair, Inspector Stokes, Penelope, and Griselda, race to expose a cunning and cold-blooded killer.who stalks closer and closer. Will Montague and Violet learn the shocking truth too late to seize their chance at enduring love?


First I want to say I am a huge Stephanie Laurens fan. Fell in love with the Cynsters years ago. That said, this is not your typical SL book. When I first started reading it I was confused, where was the love story with Montague and Violet? Wait, why are we in the bedroom of the other two characters, and in their head. None of this fit the usual style. If you have read SL’s books you have seen Penelope in a few other books and her story with Adair has already been told in the previous book, Where the Heart Leads, and although I love to catch up with past characters, I do not need to be in their bedroom again. We have seen it and been there; we know their love story...I digress. I was confused enough to finally go to Ms. Laurens website where it states The Masterful Mr. Montague is a mystery with romantic elements. AHHHHHH well that's a horse of a different color isn’t it. So now that I am not expecting the typical SL romance I can get down to the mystery. And this is a mystery, in fact it's one of many and it appears that they will now include this whole group solving them.

I have to say I didn’t guess who did it although there were times when I suspected. The story is good and I actually skimmed over the love scenes when they came (see above for why). My biggest complaint about the book is that the love story is shoved into the last few pages of the book and it is not given the time and the space these two characters deserve. I enjoyed these two very much and want to know more about them. Although I love the book, because the publisher is selling it as a romance I can't give it a 5, but because SL does explain on her website that it's a mystery with romantic themes it redeems the book back to a 4.


Whiskey Beach by Nora Roberts

Whiskey Beach
By: Nora Roberts
Publisher: Berkley
Published: April 16, 2013
Genre: Contemporary, Action/Adventure, Mystery, Romance, Suspense, Thriller
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Suki
Date: January 24, 2015

 

For more than three hundred years, Bluff House has sat above Whiskey Beach, guarding its shore - and its secrets.

To summer tourists, it's the crown jewel of the town's stunning scenery. To the residents of Whiskey Beach, it's landmark and legend. To Eli Landon, it's home...

A Boston lawyer, Eli has weathered an intense year of public scrutiny and police investigation after being accused of murdering his soon-to-be ex-wife. And though there was never enough evidence to have him arrested, his reputation is in tatters as well as his soul. He need sanctuary. He needs Bluff House.

While Eli's beloved grandmother is in Boston, recuperating from a nasty fall, Abra Walsh has card for Bluff House, among her other jobs as yoga instructor, jewelry maker, and massage therapist. She is a woman with an open heart and a wide embrace, and no one is safe from her special, some would say over-bearing, brand of nurturing - including Eli.

He begins to count on Abra for far more than her cooking, cleaning, and massage skills, and starts to feel less like a victim - and more like the kind of man who can finally solve the murder of his wife and clear his name. But Bluff House's many mysteries are a siren song to someone intent on destroying Eli and reaping the rewards. He and Abra will become entangled in a centuries-old net of rumors and half-truths that could pull them under the thunderous waters of Whiskey Beach...

Passion and obsession, humor and heart flow together in a novel about two people opening themselves up to the truth - and to each other.


Whiskey beach starts in a way that had me checking that I didn’t miss a book before, perhaps a sister or family member of the Hero because when we start the story so much has already happened. Eli, who not an Alpha male I adored, has spent the last year in a state of depression because he is the main suspect in his wife's murder. So I think we were supposed to feel invested in him in the beginning. He has returned to the family estate after a long absence to feel and take care of the place for his Gran, Hester who I also adore.

In walked our heroine, Abra. Note I did not state I adore her. Because to be honest I had a hard time liking Abra. Abra who does a little bit of everything to perfection, who (Spoiler alert) seems to only carry around a ‘small carryon bag” of baggage from a past of tragedy. So even healing, she does perfectly. She, as Eli also wonders in the book, must own stock in little post it notes, which she posts like a mother all over the house and they drove us both crazy. She came off as meddling, holier than thou, and mothering. Not what I personally want from my heroines. I just couldn’t relate to her.

This is one of NR’s Romantic Suspenses and I pretty much figured out who killed his wife in the first few chapters. Who threw his Gran down the stairs took a bit more. That didn’t change the fact that I enjoyed the mystery part of the story. Though I would have liked to see the reactions to his innocence and some comeuppance from those who hounded Eli… I am speaking to you Officer Wolf.

Let me say that if you are a Nora Roberts fan, this one has all the things you love in a Nora book but I believe you will find much of the story, you have seen before in other books. Perhaps it is a case of kicking out too many books too fast, I don’t know. Overall I enjoyed it and don’t regret picking it up. To me if you are looking for a good NR Romantic Suspense try Carnal Innocence.


Disclosure as Per the FTC Guidlines:
All books reviewed at Got Romance! Reviews have been provided by the Publishers or Authors for free. Got Romance! Reviews has not been compensated for any reviews.
Got Romance! Reviews does not own any images, book covers or portraits on the site.
Book Cover images are from the various authors, pubishers or Goodreads
Elvin Pin-Up art were acquired from Elvgren PinUp
Hilga Pun-Up art were acquired from Toilgirls
Elvin and Hilga copyrights owned by Brown and Bigelow
Copyright © 2011. Got Romance! Reviews - All Rights Reserved
Template Creater | Proudly powered by Blogger