Advertise with us!!
Current Reviews

Kissing the Tycoon by Dominique Eastwick

Kissing the Tycoon
By: Dominique Eastwick
Publisher: Musa Publishing
Published: February, 14, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length:  Short Story
Heat Level:  Spicy
Reviewer:  Toni
Date:  February 28, 2014


Even the big mistakes can be forgiven if you love enough.

If you love something...

Riley Sherman knew when to cut her losses. Although she loved Barret, he never seemed ready to commit. His business would always be his first love.

If it doesn't come back...

Barret Briggs grew up poor and would be damned if anyone he loved ever went hungry again. Too late he realized that hunger can eat at the heart too.

But what if loves bumps back into you?

When fate throws them together again, can he prove to her he is now worthy of her love? And can she open herself up enough to let him back in?

Can two brokenhearted lovers find their Finally Ever After?




Kissing the Tycoon is all about second chances and what one will do if they lose that special person. This is a feel good book from beginning to end. Yes, the story is short, but if you need a pick me up, then don’t pass this one by. You can’t help but smile when you discover all the things Barret has done in the years he has been apart from Riley.

While this book takes place within the Sherman Family series you can easily follow along. I would recommend the whole series though. They are a very special family that deserves the love of readers. Kissing the Tycoon dips its toe into the series and makes you want the family all over again.

The plot is simple, boy loses girl and wants her back; plain and simple. A long drawn out back story is not needed. Things happen very fast, but it is a short story and within the allotted time, Ms. Eastwick covers all the basics; effortless and thoroughly. No drama, just adults that know that they had something special once upon a time and cannot fight what is meant to be. This is such a sweet story of true love, well not that sweet. There are a few steamy scenes to help spice things up. *grins*

I would recommend Kissing the Tycoon. It’s a very enjoyable read. Yes, this story could have supported a higher page count quite easily, but since I knew going in that this was short and sweet, I was ready. All the points were covered and it helped make it a solid short story. I have to say; that is a hard thing to accomplish. Great job Ms. Eastwick!



Dark Moon by Kate Douglas

Dark Moon
By: Kate Douglas
Publisher: Kensington
Published: January 28, 2014
Genre: Futuristic, Erotic Romance, Paranormal, 
Content: M/F, M/M, M/F/M/F, Ménage, Anal Sex, Oral Sex
Length:  Novel
Heat Level: Scorching
Reviewer: Toni
Date: February 27, 2014

Chanku spirit guide Igmutaka has known since the day he held the newborn daughter of Tala and Mik Fuentes in his hands, that she would grow up to be his. Unfortunately, no one thought to copy Mikaela Star on the message.

After years of avoiding her overbearing spirit guide, Star has decided to return to Montana and face the beautiful and irritating man who has haunted her nights for much too long. But first, she takes a small vacation in California, where Igmutaka just happens to be waiting.

Sunny Daye has known this day was coming. She and Ig have been lovers for years, but both of them accept that they are not meant to be a mated pair. When Igmutaka tells Sunny her man is "out there, and coming closer," she can barely contain her excitement. But Fen Ahlberg is not at all what Sunny expected—in fact, he is so much more that his mere existence may change the Chanku forever.




Dark Moon is the long awaited story of three favorite and beloved characters. Igmutaka, ancient spirit guide the Fuentes family line. Mikaela Star Fuetes, the first female charge of Igmutaka and daughter to Tala, AJ and Miguel. And finally a character that is amazing in her strength and determination, Sunny Daye. She was once a crippled mute woman and now she is a strong and adoring lover and friend to Igmutaka and Star. Characters that have always intrigued me and pulled at my heartstrings are finally having their tales told and what a lovely story it is.

Star and Igmutaka have always had a special connection and I enjoyed how they finally decided that fourteen years apart was long enough and they put everything out front; no matter the consequences. Star is tired of running from her love of Ig and she is traveling home to be reunited with her family and pack. She has loved him forever and either he returns her love or she needs to move on. Unknown to her, Ig has loved her too. Now is the time to claim her. He only hopes that she can love him as much as he loves her. There is nothing like two head strong people finally realizing they are perfect for each other.

While Star has been away from the pack, Sunny has been a confidant and lover to Igmutaka. She always knew that he was not for her, but a very special connection brought them together repeatedly. But Igmutaka has news for Sunny that her mate is on his way. Sunny wants nothing more in the world and can’t wait.

Fen Ahlberg is a lonely man who always felt apart from the world. From his first disastrous meeting of Sunny, you can’t help but feel even more for the big man. Their attraction is instantaneous, but considering the setting of their first encounter…it is inevitable and powerful. There love is quick and action packed, but still holds a certain sweetness.

I loved how Ms. Douglas interweaved the two couples blossoming romances. But she doesn’t stop there. She throws in a special twist that I could feel coming, but was unsure how it would unfold. Without giving too much away, let’s just say it’s a first in the long history of the Chanku series. Oh sweet heaven is it exciting!

The only reason this novel doesn’t get my complete and undying love of 5 hearts is because the antagonist of the story fell short for me. While the plot for the story was required, I think the storyline was rushed and could have held more angst and drama to the story if it would have been expanded. Space and time may have been factors to the shorten scenario since the novel does encompass two couples. All-in-all it is a small problem, I still loved the story and couldn’t put it down.

Dark Moon is a very enjoyable read that demonstrates that destined love never dies but just gets stronger. Time and obstacles will never keep apart what is meant to be. Ms. Douglas has written a beautiful story of love and destiny and shouldn’t be missed if you love her amazing voice and her incredible Chanku’s.


Dark Spirit by Kate Douglas

Dark Spirit
By:  Kate Douglas
Publisher:  Beyond the Page
Published:  January 6, 2014
Genre: Futuristic, Action/Adventure, Erotic Romance, Paranormal
Content: M/F, M/M, M/F/M, Ménage, Anal Sex, Oral Sex
Length:  Novel
Heat Level:  Scorching
Reviewer:  Toni
Date:  February 16, 2014

Romy Sarika has spent much of her life suffering at the hands of a sadistic cult leader. Twenty years earlier she watched him kill her mother, and now she awaits the same fate. But when the self-proclaimed prophet orders Romy killed, the wolf part of her rises up and for the first time she shifts. Managing to save herself, she leaves death and chaos in her wake.

Alone in the woods and badly injured, Romy is found by Jace Wolf and Gabe Cheval, two powerful and striking Chanku who help her heal and simultaneously unleash sensual desires in her that are as new and intense as her wolf-like abilities. But just as Romy’s opening herself to this new erotic world and the passionate connections she’s forming with both men, danger is closing in.

Bent on revenge and driven by bloodlust, cult members are pursuing the trio. Discovery could mean not just Romy’s death but destruction of the Chanku way of life. With their lives at stake and the Chanku race in jeopardy, the three must fight to save themselves and the future of their proud race.


I have read the Chanku journey from the very beginning. I have gobbling up every novel, short story and novella that has been written about them. I can honestly say that their stories have fascinated and pleasantly shocked me from the start. When the final chapter on the main arc (Wolf Tales) was completed I was totally depressed and saddened. But there was a light shining at the end of the tunnel. Hope that the story would continue. I waited and prayed that the children would have their stories told and I was totally thrilled that Ms. Douglas was able to share their stories with us.

Dark Spirit is book two in the Spirit Wild series. Dark Spirit had a different feel for me. I’m not sure it was because it took place away from the compound and essentially didn’t have the normal supporting characters or it is something else. I do know that Ms. Douglas tackles the riveting range of emotional turmoil with brave gusto. She doesn’t shy away from taboo subjects and she handles this books subject matter head on.

I will say not everyone will be comfortable with reading Dark Spirit, but it’s a sad reality that we only read horror stories about, after the fact. Dark Spirit can be a heartbreaking read at times and if she would have delved into the matter in its totality she may have lost a few readers. It is handled delicately and with honor to the victims.

I enjoyed this novel. I do feel that something was missing for me to give it way up high five rating, but needless to say, I think if you have enjoyed other Chanku novels from Ms. Douglas you will likely enjoy this one too. There are grisly bloody action scenes, but surprisingly I wanted more pain and suffering dealt out. This is one comment you will have to read to understand. I can’t remember the last time I was so blood thirsty and violent. Then you switch over to tender love making that shows that the characters are creatures of respect and pleasure. Throw in some healing power and you have a delightfully erotically charged romantic read. Delightful is hardly a word I would normally use to describe Kate’s work, but it seems to fit for me this time around.

Dark Spirit is a story about two journeys. One that takes the characters across the northwest portion of the US and another more important one; a journey filled with pain, discovery and love; packed with heartache, anger, understanding and eventually resolution. It is not for the light of heart, but if you enjoy stories of love, healing and extremely hot sex, Dark Spirit is for you!


Shifter’s Song by Vanessa North

Shifter’s Song
By:  Vanessa North
Publisher:  Musa Publishing
Published:  
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal
Content: M/M, Anal Play, Anal Sex, Oral Sex
Length:  Novella
Heat Level:  Spicy
Reviewer:  Toni
Date:  April 24, 2013

Edouard Bonsaint has a bear-sized problem. He hasn't shifted in ten years, and isn't sure he even can anymore. Chaperoned by his youngest brother, Bruno, he heads to the Wiccan Haus to ask Rekkus for help. But when Bruno doesn't show up on the other side of the portal, Edouard's inability to shift is no longer his biggest problem.

Lincoln Tucker has it all: money, fame, and a golden voice. But he's in the closet twice over--few people know he's gay, and even fewer know he can shift into a songbird at will. Downtime at the Wiccan Haus between tours allows him to be himself. Throw a big toppy bear-shifter into the mix, and Lincoln might just have all he's ever wanted--if he can trust himself to hold on to Edouard.

With passions and tempers burning hot, can Lincoln help Edouard bring forth the bear and save his brother?



If I had the ability, I’d be doing back flips.

When I finished Shifter’s Dance earlier in the week I was hoping, praying and I likely would have been begging to read about Stephen’s brothers, Edouard and Bruno. I knew there was another Wiccan Haus book out there, but since I didn’t have it in my greedy little hands, I let it go. I actually thought there was no way Vanessa already had finished one of the brother’s books. Boy was I 110% wrong. Not only is it done, published and excellent; a little birdie told me she is working on the last brother’s book as we speak. Again, imagine the back flipping and dancing around. Trust me it is all in my head and not in reality, because I’d hurt myself.

The Bonsaint brothers are heading to Wiccan Haus for a little R&R and to give newlyweds Stephen and Romy some peace and quiet. Edouard also plans to work on his inability to shift into his bear. Things didn’t go as planned. For some reason Bruno didn’t make it to the other side of the portal. Edouard is understandably upset, but the sexy Lincoln is there to take his mind off his troubles.

Lincoln is a man in need of a break. He is a high profile singer and the stress of touring and the pressures his big sister keeps piling on him; have him at his wits end. It’s time to break away and relax in the comforting arms of Wiccan Haus and he’s seen the arms he wants wrapped around him, Edouard’s.

Edouard’s stress from his missing brother and the likelihood he won’t be able to help search for Bruno, because he can’t shift, has him stir crazy. One note from a lovely Blackburnian Warbler settles his soul and he is able to shift into his brown bear once again. Now the only thing he needs to worry about is hurting his lover Lincoln. He will not let the past repeat itself.

First the thing that stood out for me in Shifter’s Song was that even though they are both shifters they didn’t fall in the shifter’s mating trap; the zing and recognition, lust fills the air, they fall in bed together, because hello, their instincts are making them do it and the horns toot and the bells ring and they live happily ever after. Nope these men fought it all the way. Yes, one of them accepted it sooner than the other, but there was a bit of a battle to accept fate. It wasn’t absolute instinct for them. They had to work for it and let me just say, YAY!

Second thing that was a shining beacon for me…I absolutely loved these two men’s names. Both are first for me and well like I said, I loved them!!

Finally third, I’d like to congratulate Vanessa for writing the first M/M Wiccan Haus story. You have set the bar high and if I was sitting next to you, I’d be patting you on the back; very well done. Their romance felt natural, yet very sexy and steamy.

I think I only had one slight problem with the story. Edouard wasn’t upset enough about his brother being missing. I can understand that he was distracted by the loveliness of Lincoln, but with him being the oldest and a big protective bear, I felt there should have been just a bit more angst. It really isn’t a big deal, but I just had to put it out there. Now that I’m over it, Shifter’s Song was AWESOME!!

The story was well thought out and it was nice to see Stephen and Romy again. I also love how all three of their books are flowing so well together and I personally can’t wait for Bruno’s book. You hinted a bit about Bruno, without giving anything away and I’m booking my trip to Wiccan Haus to watch it unfold firsthand. All aboard, the ferry is about to leave the port!


Psychic Lies by Sara Daniel

Psychic Lies
By:  Sara Daniel
Publisher:  Musa Publishing
Published:  October 26, 2012
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal
Length:  Novella
Heat Level:  Spicy
Reviewer:  Toni
Date:  April 22, 2013

Fiona must keep her ability to read minds during sex a secret from those determined to exploit her, especially a sexy truth-finding investigator who needs her psychic power to save his job.

Fiona has spent her life hiding her sexual mind-reading power at the risk of being exploited by the government. Instead, she pretends to have lifebond vetting powers like the rest of her family. When her fake power results in the death of an innocent woman, her life of lies unravels and she retreats to the Wiccan Haus.

Armando is the head of the Department of Truth-Finding for the Syndicate. To prove his unit’s worth to the government, he follows Fiona to the Wiccan Haus to expose her as an infiltrator of an enemy faction. The truth about Fiona is even more valuable to his people and his career.

Fiona uses her power to seduce Armando and stop his plans to betray her. But nothing is strong enough to keep her from falling in love with this man whose power threatens to destroy her. Now she must trust him, not only with her life and her psychic lies, but also her heart.



If you like shorter stories, written by a variety of authors and enjoy reading about paranormal beings set in a fantastic location, then Wiccan Haus is for you and now is the time to jump on board. This shared-world series is still in its infancy, but there are enough volumes to keep you busy and interested.

In this installment we have two people coming to Wiccan Haus to find closure, but for way different reasons. Both are there because of their perceived mistakes and failures. Fiona is running from herself and Armando is trying to find the truth and save his career.

I really enjoyed this story. WOW! I went in without reading the blurb, so I had no idea what Fiona’s secret ability was. When it started to show itself, just the implications of two people coming together who could read the truth from others, is mind boggling. Could you imagine having your lover know all your secrets/thoughts and you knowing all his, ALL THE TIME! Nope, no thank you.

The romance progression was nice, but since their relationship started with so many complications at times it was hard to believe, but Ms. Daniel resolved all my questions and made it work. She also did a fabulous job with tying up the loose ends. It just amazes me how authors can package so much story into such small packages. I am completely satisfied and have no questions that these two found their happily ever after. I will say though, even though I’m satisfied with the outcome, I’m excited that there are three more stories for me to read in the Wiccan Haus series. Bring them on!!


Shifter’s Dance by Vanessa North

Shifter’s Dance
By:  Vanessa North
Publisher:  Musa Publishing
Published:  November 16, 2012
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal
Length:  Novella 
Heat Level:  Spicy
Reviewer:  Toni
Date:  April 22, 2013

Romy Lewis, a ballet dancer at the peak of her career, loses everything when she is blinded by a mean prank. Her agent suggests a visit to the Wiccan Haus resort to sort out what she wants to do with her life now that both her career and her eyesight have been taken from her.

Stephen Bonsaint, bear shifter, computer programmer, and sometime spy, always figured he’d meet a sturdy mama bear someday and have a couple of cubs with her. A tiny human ballet dancer who can’t even see is not at all who he imagined as a mate.

Together they dance around their feelings for each other as Romy learns how to navigate her new life, and Stephen learns that sometimes, strength isn’t something you can see from the outside.




Truthfully after several hundred books, I still have not wrapped my head around what makes a short story a short story or a short novel a novella. All I do know is that it is really darn hard to tell a complete story with character development, intriguing plot and a believable romance in a few chapters, but Vanessa North and the other authors of Wiccan Haus do time it and again with flying colors.

This is my sixth Wiccan Haus installment. I also believe this is my sixth 5 stars review. The people of Musa have really done exceptional job with picking quality authors with the ability to weave great tales in a confined amount of time. They have kept the story line consistent, fun and exciting love stories and even throw in some new twists along the way.

Ms. North is a new author for me and she did a fantastic job. I loved the angle she went with; a blind struggling heroine and a big burly bear shifter. I sit here and envision a tiny ballerina and a huge bear of a man and chuckle. Talk about opposites attracting. They had some issues to overcome and this couple could have held up to a longer book, but Ms. North did a great job capturing Romy’s frustration and Stephen’s patience in her allotted time. They were really made for each other.

One of the best treats about this series is that you consistently get to revisit the original members of the staff. They bring such color to the stories and I’m glad that the authors incorporate them seamlessly. They really help weave the stories together and make them even better.

Shifter’s Dance was a wonderful treat. I could even see myself enjoy a couple of stories about two brothers (hint hint). You never know. If what Ms. North says is true, Stephen’s brothers will be booking a trip to Wiccan Haus. If that is the case sign me up too. I’m always game for some bear shifters. Bring the boys on!


Killing Lucas by Dominique Eastwick

Killing Lucas
By:  Dominique Eastwick
Publisher:  Musa Publishing
Published:  April 19, 2013
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance, Suspense 
Length:  Novella
Heat Level:  Spicy
Reviewer:  Toni
Date:  April 10, 2013

What doesn't kill us makes you stronger. But is their love strong enough?

Lucas Sherman wanted one thing in life. Never to set eyes on his ex-fiancé Kiloran O’Connor again. But no one said life was fair. Now with a stalker hunting both of them Lucas is forced to put his distrust and hatred to the side to keep them both alive.

Kiloran only ever wanted to keep Lucas safe. But no matter how hard she tries danger seems to be a step behind them. Now creating a public front can she break through the wall Lucas has erected around his heart? Those same walls she helped cement.

Can true love conquer and forgive all or will it kill them both?



Killing Lucas is a book of discovery, understanding and a burning passion that even unforgivable betrayal cannot extinguish.

Lucas has been unhappy from the very beginning of the Sherman Family series. Now it is our chance to understand the who, what, where and why that shaped Lucas into the man he is today. Can he find his former self or has his pain destroyed the fun loving man he used to be?

Kiloran is a woman who will do what she has to do to protect her friends and family. Even if it means pushing away the one man she is destined to be with, her soul mate. She has been alone for years and one chance meeting changes the game. She may have forced Lucas away in the past to save him, but she can’t lose him to death. She is done hiding. Lucas is too important to her to stay silent any longer.

Two ex-lovers must now pretend to be back together. One is still hopelessly in love and the other is too angry to realize who his heart belongs to. Every near death experience brings them closer together, but is it too late for them? Can they find each other again?

Fast paced, emotional and sexy; a great mixture for sure. Lucas’s pain has been haunting me from the very start and I’m so happy that he gets his happily ever after. The Sherman’s play hard and love harder. Lucas had the biggest heart of them all and it was broke beyond repair. Ms. Eastwick had a tough job ahead of her and she did very well to showcase his pain. Honestly, this book could have been longer, because he was in that much pain and was that angry. Lucas had a very long road ahead of him, but she did a great job in the time allotted her. Even though Lucas wore his pain on his sleeve, it was more painful for me to finally understand Kiloran’s side of the story. She is an amazing woman, with a selfless heart and a true mate for Lucas.

Thank you Ms. Eastwick. You did a great job bringing this story to light and bringing these two tortured lovers back together. Killing Lucas was everything I wanted and I enjoyed it wholeheartedly. It is a great addition to the family.


Disclosure as Per the FTC Guidlines:
All books reviewed at Got Romance! Reviews have been provided by the Publishers or Authors for free. Got Romance! Reviews has not been compensated for any reviews.
Copyright © 2011. Got Romance! Reviews - All Rights Reserved
Template Creater | Proudly powered by Blogger