Advertise with us!!
Current Posts

A Ghost of A Clue by Debra Doggett

A Ghost of A Clue
By: Debra Doggett
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.
Published: October 1, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: ReadingPatti
Date: November 12, 2015


Rory DuMont has had enough of hiding the fact that she sees ghosts. Lobster Cove is a new start and she's determined to shed the mistakes of the past. If that means she ends up alone then so be it. What she can't seem to shed is Travis Reed, Lobster Cove's resident skeptic and biology teacher. Sparks fly when the skeptic and the psychic find themselves alone together but the sparks turn into flames when a ghost takes a personal interest in them.

Rory DuMont has recently moved to Lobster Cove. She inherited her aunt’s cottage, Maison de la Mer. At a meeting of Lobster Cove Ghost Hunters Society, Rory meets Mr. Travis Reed, a local biology teacher. He is a skeptic when it comes to the paranormal. 

They both feel sparks from the first time they meet. Rory is not interested at first but as they continue to meet and become friends, they discover that they have more in common they think. 

When a ghost appears to them and some of Travis’s students, they work together to find out who the ghost is.  The want to know what happened to her and to hopefully help her move on to a more peaceful place.

I loved this book from the beginning. I could feel the sparks coming off the pages between the two of them.  I couldn't put the book down!  I had to continue to the end and find out what would happen to Rory and Travis and the ghost! 

I like the journey Travis embarks on and how he comes to believe in ghosts and yet can still be a scientist. Rory finds her love, Travis and he find her. 

I wish that this book was longer, I could have continued to read more of their romance and about their lives. I want to know about these two and what else happens to them.  A great marker for an exceptional book!

A Ghost of a Clue was totally worth the read.

Stirring Up The Viscount by Marin McGinnes

Stirring Up The Viscount
By: Marin McGinnes
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.
Published: January 30, 2015
Genre: Historical, Romance
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: ReadingPatti
Date: October 20, 2015


Seeking to escape an abusive husband, Theodora Ravensdale answers an ad in The Times for a job as cook in a country home. A fortuitous house fire enables her to fake her own death and flee to northern England and live under an assumed name. But Theodora’s refuge is not all she would wish, when she stirs emotions in the heir to the estate, Jonathan Tenwick, and in herself.

Meanwhile, as the connection between Theodora and Jonathan grows, her husband learns she did not perish in the fire, and searches for her. Fearing he is close to finding her, Theodora must flee again to protect the family and the viscount for whom she cares deeply. In the final confrontation with her husband, Theodora learns she is stronger than she ever knew, and love is worth fighting for.

Theodora Ravensdale's time for freedom has come.  She finally has a chance to escape her abusive husband when their house catches fire. Running away, she finds work, in the country, as a cook at Jonathan Tenwick’s house. 

While working and living close together, the two of them discover that they have a spark of attraction for each other. As time goes on, it grows and blossoms into more. 

I loved this book. Theodora is a strong woman who took a chance to leave her abusive husband. To find some peace. Little did she know that she would find Jonathan, the love of her life. Jonathan was settled in his life with his family until Theodora comes into his life. 

Theodora never believed that a man could love her for herself and Jonathan never believed that he would find a love of his own. In spite of what they have both gone through they find a way to be together and find that love that they were both meant to have.

Neither Theodora or Jonathan believed that they would find a love that was meant to last a life time. I liked how they fought what they were feeling and didn't succumb right away.  But best of all in the end they would have their happy ever after. I would recommend this book.

Defensive Heart by Dorothy F. Shaw

Defensive Heart: 
The Donnellys Book 2
By: Dorothy F. Shaw
Publisher: Samhain
Published: September 8, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance
Content: M/F, Oral Sex
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Scorching
Reviewer: Marchelle
Date: September 8, 2015


Uptown girl, tattooed bad boy. Think you know which one is wild? You’d be wrong.

Greenwich Village is home to successful artist Jimmy Donnelly, and the world is his playground. A broken heart in college left him with zero interest in being tied down. But when he meets a sexy, quick-witted Manhattan attorney, he reconsiders his bad boy ways.

Sonja Martin’s life is filled with work, an ex-husband who refuses to stay gone, and a teenage daughter who won’t follow the rules. Jimmy, with his myriad of tattoos and piercings, looks more like one of her clients than a potential lover. But when every argument between them feels more like foreplay, she can’t seem to stay out of his bed.

The heat burns through whatever defenses Sonja thought she had. And Jimmy finds his every fantasy fulfilled—and exceeded—by a woman whose fire burns as bright as her fiercely guarded vulnerability.

But his case for breaking her out of her self-imposed mold might just be dismissed. And he’ll lose the best thing he’s ever found.

Ok so after reading the first book in this series, I was seriously hooked on Jimmy and hoping the second book would be his story. Lucky for me, Miss Shaw did not disappoint. This book totally exceeded my expectations (and they were pretty high to begin with).

Jimmy is tattoed, pierced and an artist. He is pretty much the trifecta of a hot, bad boy. The thing is, he’s not really a bad boy. He’s sweet and just plain adorable, but only with Sonja. He enjoys getting her worked up in all the best physical ways, but isn’t afraid to push her emotional buttons as well. She’s cold to him, without really wanting to be. It just makes him work that much harder to crack her ice.

Sonja is a criminal lawyer who works too much. She wants to let Jimmy in but continues to find ways to convince herself it won’t work - he’s too young, he’s too demanding, she’s not looking for a relationship, etc. Her teenage daughter is a handful. Her rebellious nature creates problems between Sonja and her ex-husband, who incidentally is a real piece of work. All of these things, in Sonja’s mind, are reasons she cannot allow Jimmy to be anything more than a bed buddy.

There are so many amazing parts to this story. I love that Jimmy never really gives up on her. No matter how much she pushes him away, he keeps coming back with a new way to break through her wall. He is determined to be a part of her life. I love how he relates to her daughter and quickly becomes someone she feels comfortable and safe with. What woman doesn’t want a guy as sexy as Jimmy who treats her daughter like something precious to be cared for and protected? Major swoon-worthy! Every time Sonja pushed him away, I found myself wanting to yell in frustration.

This book grabbed me and sucked me right in. I stayed up most of the night reading and reluctantly put it down to go to work. Still, I found every chance I could to continue reading it while I was there. While this book stands on its own, if you haven’t read the first book in the series, you should. Ryan’s story was great and there are several glimpses of Jimmy that made me crave more of him. There is no hint in this book of which Donnelly we’ll meet next, but I have no doubt it will be amazing. Until then I will read Jimmy’s story again and try to be patient.

Unchained Memories by Maria Imbalzano

Unchained Memories
By: Maria Imbalzano
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.
Published: September 22, 2013
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: ReadingPatti
Date: September 8, 2015

As a rising medical malpractice attorney, Charlotte Taylor believes in standing up for the injured, giving them a voice, and advocating for their rights. She couldn’t do it for her mother, so she does it for others, even if it means losing the love of her life.

Dr. Clayton Montgomery believes in working hard and playing even harder, until he reconnects with Charlotte. Barely noticing her crush when he tutored her ten years ago, Clay has a chance to make up for lost time when the beautiful lawyer comes back into town…until he discovers her chosen career path.

Now, philosophical differences soon become a reality and Charlotte is faced with the choice of representing a client against the hospital and against Clay. Will Charlotte give up her career and her tribute to her mother for a second chance with the man who got away?

Charlotte Taylor and Dr. Clay Montgomery knew each from when Charlotte was a senior in high school. Now Clay is an ER doctor and Charlotte is a lawyer that specializes in mal-practice suits.  One major obstacle that may come between them. 

In spite of their differences, Charlotte and Clay begin seeing each other.  The strain of her job begins to come between them. The final conflict is when Clay is named in a suit.  Clay feels betrayed by Charlotte and ends the relationship.

Charlotte is overwhelmed.  First she looses Clay, then she feels betrayed by her boss Brad, a 
very driven lawyer who is out to make all the money he can for the firm, regardless of the consequences. Also Charlotte’s sister Renee needs her.  She is a widow with two kids. Charlotte decides that she can’t keep going on this way and decides to go back to California.

Once Clay finally realizes that he truly loves Charlotte, will it be too late to win her back and have a love that can carried them though anything that comes their way?

I was hooked on this book from the very beginning. Charlotte and Clay overcame many difficulties and obstacles to find what they had, in spite of it all. Charlotte finds her family again in her sister, Renee, her friend Annie and finally Clay. They found their love for each other and they found that they could have that and a life together. I would recommend this book to my friends. I loved it.

Disclosure as Per the FTC Guidlines:
All books reviewed at Got Romance! Reviews have been provided by the Publishers or Authors for free. Got Romance! Reviews has not been compensated for any reviews.
Got Romance! Reviews does not own any images, book covers or portraits on the site.
Book Cover images are from the various authors, pubishers or Goodreads
Elvin Pin-Up art were acquired from Elvgren PinUp
Hilga Pun-Up art were acquired from Toilgirls
Elvin and Hilga copyrights owned by Brown and Bigelow
Copyright © 2011. Got Romance! Reviews - All Rights Reserved
Template Creater | Proudly powered by Blogger