Advertise with us!!
Current Posts

Wolf's Return by Rebecca Royce

Wolf's Return (Black Hills Wolves #1)
By: Rebecca Royce
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Published: January 9, 2015 by Decadent Publishing
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance, Paranormal
Content: M/F, Spanking, Oral Sex
Length: Short Story
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Toni
Date: March 2, 2015

 

A hidden wolf pack. Lies. Intrigue. And reluctant heroes. Get to know the Black Hills…

Drew Tao left the Black Hills in disgrace, banished by his father. He has spent the last ten years a lone wolf, living on his own. Called back home, he finally gets the chance to set things right. If such a thing is possible….

Betty Holden has hated her mate every day for the last ten years for abandoning her and their pack. She's been running things in Los Lobos, and she has no intention of letting Drew Tao slip back into her life like nothing has changed-even if she has never been able to resist him .

Can there be forgiveness? And can he protect her when another enemy arrives?


Ten years is a long time to keep your mate waiting. With no word from her mate, Betty has lived a miserable life in a dying town. No goodbyes, nothing.

Drew has been miserable since he was forced to leave his pack and his mate. Living with humans has strengthened him and now with news from home, it’s time to return.

Wolf’s Return is almost too short. I enjoyed it and I understand that the world will continue to be built; it would have been nice to have the stage a bit more secure. Ms. Royce still did a great job to bring the errors of the past into the light and show how even mates can’t deny their pull to each other. She definitely has my attention and I can’t wait to read more additions to the series.

This is a short story; well it could almost be considered a short novella, it’s right on the edge The Black Hills Wolves series will be written by several authors, each gifting us with snippets of life in the town of Los Lobos. I’m looking forward to diving into these stories of blooming romance and the rebuilding of this small shifter town. I think this will is a brilliant concept and I have always enjoyed short stories written under an umbrella theme. It allows authors to have a set base to start with and since the readers already know the main backstory, the authors have the freedom to focus on the main characters, without significant world building. This concept heightens my enjoyment of short stories immensely.


Tara of the Fey by Misha Tagliaferro

Tara of the Fey
By: Misha Tagliaferro
Publisher: Sweet Craving Publishing
Published: March 29, 2013
Genre: Historical, Action/Adventure, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction
Length: Short Story
Heat Level: Sigh
Reviewer: Suki
Date: April 21, 2015

 

Sailing through the Minch, fey princess Tara enjoys her last taste freedom before facing her betrothal to an Irish prince—a man she doesn’t love and has no interest in marrying. The smooth voyage takes an abrupt turn for the worse when a group of ornery Blue Men of the Minch appear and brew up a storm. Tara has no choice but to give into their whims when she is swept overboard.

Caeden, a fey cursed to live as a Blue Man, can't believe he is seeing the grown version of his childhood best friend. He hopes she’ll be the one to break his curse and allow him to return to life on land. Tara sees the fey man trapped inside the blue exterior, but is she his one true love and the key to breaking the curse? Or will Caeden live as a Blue Man of the Minch forever?


Short story writing can be difficult and when dealing with the complicated work it can be made more complicated when a writer is delving into mythos. This story from the beginning had me confused I was unfamiliar with the what Minch were and eventually had to stop reading to look it up on line. Some descriptions of the other men or even a brief paragraph telling up about these creatures would have gone a long way for me.

The rest of the book seemed rushed as if the author had only 20 pages to tell a story that could have taken chapters. I love a good short story but this one just wasn’t given the time it needs. I wanted more information. What kind of serpent did she turn into when she went underwater? What did she look like? What were the punishments of the Chieftain?

In the end the book left me feeling like part of the story hadn’t been told. I would definitely give this author another read as she had passion for what she wrote.


Romancing Austin by Various Authors


Romancing Austin
By: Riley Bancroft, Evelyn Berry, Cara Carnes, Jax Garren, Irene Preston, Rebecca Royce, Chandra Ryan
Publisher: Valkyrie Books
Published: May 5, 2015 by
Genre: Contemporary, Anthology, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Length: Novella, Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Toni
Date: May 3, 2015

 

Former rock star Dex Reed throws a wild comeback party in his Austin penthouse, and seven romances heat up the night.

No Quitting Allowed – Rebecca Royce
One last assignment and then Lana is quitting her job, quitting Austin, and moving on with her life. Until Jake stumbles into her and changes the direction of her whole world.

Twisted – Cara Carnes
Caleb "Colt" Douglas agreed to close out Twisted Delirium's sold out world tour with a gig at SXSW for one reason--win back the woman he left behind.

Do Over – Chandra Ryan
When life offers Juliana a fresh start, will she follow her heart or play it safe?

Consortium – Riley Bancroft
Record exec Holt Michaelson married the enigmatic Chloe to keep his assets safe from a vindictive competitor, but after a fiery encounter with his new wife, he's determined to claim her as his own, body and soul.

Tall Order – Irene Preston
Dylan made the worst mistake of his life when he chose his career over Aston, but tonight he'll take a risk on Aston even if it's too late.

Enchanted – Evelyn Berry
Stripped of her magic, fairy princess Aurora is torn between her duty to her imperiled family and to a brilliant musician who holds the key to their freedom...and her heart.

One Night with the Vampire – Jax Garren
Tonight Alex will finally possess the woman he's craved, but Sofia's dangerous family secrets threaten to tear them apart.


Welcome to my home town!

I have the hardest time reviewing anthologies or book sets, but I’m happy to say the last two that I have read have been perfect. The new trend of collaborative stories is brilliant and I love how over a half a dozen people can come together, brainstorm, make up “world” rules and then let their imaginations fly.

That is what you get with Romancing Austin. It’s not just a bunch of rock n roll related stories thrown together and distributed to capitalize on the popular Austin event; South by Southwest. You have a well thought out mini world of excellence. You have seven stories that wrap you up, keep you warm, and makes you want to cuddle and stay in for the night.

Each story has the element of different types of love stories. All of them are unique and fresh; with only a handful of them being part of established series.

No Quitting Allowed – is a story about “New Love”. Strangers brought suddenly brought together; one who loves Austin and the other who can’t wait to leave. I loved how Jake was able to capture Lana with is sense of adventure and determination.

Twisted – “Calculated Second Chances” are in the cards for Caleb and Shasta. What a sweet story of forgiveness with a touch of tragedy. While things were pretty set in stone and you can see that nothing has changed for these two; I loved how Ms. Carnes showed Caleb with strength and a bit of insecurity.

Do Over – is what happens when life decides to throw you over a cliff, but you look at the positive side and say “hey what a great view”. Juliana is all about making lemonade with Luke. Both of them are blindsided by “Surprise Love”. Loved it!

Consortium – From business partners to “Surprise Love”. Such a great story of a married couple trying to find common ground when what they thought was agreed upon is not what each of them want. I got tingles a few times.

Tall Order – The other “Second Chances” love story. While it may seem like a duplicate theme, the story had an abundance of heart and depth. I loved the journey these two had to go on to get back together.

Enchanted – tell of the “Magic of Love”. Two completely opposite people seem to keep getting gentle nudges into each other’s arms and I can’t be more pleased. What a different story! One that had me smiling most of the way through.

One Night with the Vampire – and to finish off the exceptional anthology, is the story of “Secret Love”. Oh my. How can the tender heart of a soul filled vampire champion his personal savior against great odds when he has nothing but himself to give…sigh. This story was a totally unexpected treat.

Each story is special and is well blended with the theme of the anthology. I enjoyed every story, but of course I had my favorites. While I really should rate them individually, this book can’t be separated and should be read in its entirety; making it very distinctive in the world of anthologies. I will admit I’m one of those readers that pick and choose stories to read in traditional anthologies, they are usually so vastly different or set deep into the authors other series, they are hard to enjoy. Not the case here. I never felt confused or not totally enthralled within the pages.

These seven ladies did an amazing job and this novel shouldn’t be missed!

Snow Angels by Sabrina York

Snow Angels
By: Sabrina York
Publisher: Decadent Publishing Company
Published: December 1, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: Novella
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Dana
Date: April 5, 2015

 

The last thing Wade Masters wants on his month-long getaway to his sister’s wilderness cabin is company. A wounded warrior, Wade is looking for complete isolation to deal with the tragedy of his life and his screaming guilt.

But company he gets, in the form of Lyssa Salk, a spunky, diminutive massage therapist. Who says she can talk to dead people.

Trapped together in the snowbound cabin, Wade and Lyssa have little else to do but help each other heal, spiritually, physically and sexually.


Wade is coming off a long recuperation period, and after agreeing to be Mr. December for his friends' Wounded Vets calendar campaign, Wade just needs a little privacy. Especially from the stalkery-ish women who have been showing up in the most unexpected of places (like naked in his bed) all for a piece of him. So escaping to his sister Val's remote country cabin with his war wounded dog, seems like a good idea. Until she shows up with...that.

Lyssa is escaping her past, and her best friend Val has generously shared the use of her "empty" remote country cabin until Lyssa can get back on her feet again. Except when she arrives at the cabin with her furry cat in tow, she's horrified to see that the cabin isn't as empty as she had hoped.

Wade wasn't expecting anyone, but when Lyssa walked in, his body parts that had been "dead' for a year, suddenly spring back to life. However, he thinks that she is just another stalker after him because he was a Calendar man, so he's less than chivalrous. When Lyssa explains that her car is stuck in a snow ditch, and that she walked a mile to the house, Wade relents and lets her stay the night. When the truth comes out that Val has set them up, Wade is less wary of Lyssa, but he can't shake the ghost of his dead girlfriend, and the fact that Lyssa talks to herself, still makes Wade keep his distance.

Wade is still in extreme pain from almost being blown in two, and when Lyssa offers to massage away the pain, he asks her if she is a Physical Therapist. Her non-committal answer, and her magic hands has him believing he was right. Until Lyssa finally confesses that she is a Healer, and that she is a medium, of sorts.

This is where the book got a little too Sixth Sense for me. I am not a fan of characters who can "heal" the sick with their magic touch, or speak to the dead. But, I overlooked it because of the chemistry that Wade and Lyssa had. Both had baggage that they were dealing with (more than just the clothes they brought with them) and together they are able to deal with it, not to mention consume mass amounts of bacon together.

I enjoyed this book, and I loved that it took the pair a while before they jumped in the sack together. The author did a great job of shedding background light on the characters, as well as having them try and be friends before they became lovers.

I'm a huge fan of Sabrina York, and I've read other works of hers where the character jump each other before getting to know each other, and I liked that she changed it up a bit in this story.


Disclosure as Per the FTC Guidlines:
All books reviewed at Got Romance! Reviews have been provided by the Publishers or Authors for free. Got Romance! Reviews has not been compensated for any reviews.
Got Romance! Reviews does not own any images, book covers or portraits on the site.
Book Cover images are from the various authors, pubishers or Goodreads
Elvin Pin-Up art were acquired from Elvgren PinUp
Hilga Pun-Up art were acquired from Toilgirls
Elvin and Hilga copyrights owned by Brown and Bigelow
Copyright © 2011. Got Romance! Reviews - All Rights Reserved
Template Creater | Proudly powered by Blogger