Advertise with us!!
Current Posts

Blinded by Grace by Becky Lower

Blinded by Grace
By: Becky Lower
Publisher: Crimson Romance
Published: March 3, 2014
Genre: Historical, Romance
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: ReadingPatti
Date: August 16, 2015

 

In 1858 New York City, Halwyn Fitzpatrick thinks he's off the hook for attendance at the annual Cotillion Ball. He has no sister to shepherd down the grand staircase this year and no real desire to go through the rituals of courtship and betrothal himself. Besides, he’ll know the right girl when he sees her, especially now that he has new spectacles. But his mother has other plans for him. At twenty-seven years of age, her son is in dire need of a wife.

Grace Wagner needs a husband by July in order to inherit the trust her father has left for her. Her stepfather, though, has plans for the money that don’t include Grace, and the last thing he wants is for her to find a husband before she turns twenty-one, thereby fulfilling the terms of the trust. She's been in love with Halwyn since she was thirteen, but he hasn't noticed her at any of the balls they've been at over the years. With the aid of his new glasses, he spies Grace from across the room and they share a dance. Grace decides to present him with a business proposition that will satisfy them both. But can a clueless knight in shining armor and a desperate damsel in distress find a way to turn this marriage of convenience into something more?


Grace Wagner meets Halwyn Fitzpartick once again at a ball. She remembers him from the first time they met when she was 13. That was when Grace fell in love with him. Hoping to help her, Halwyn dances twice with her that night, Later that night, Halwyn feels good for having helped Grace by making her happy.

Grace is troubled by her step father management of her trust. She must marry by July or lose it all. Grace comes up with a plan. Grace goes to see Halwyn at the bank and tells him what is going on. They agree to court each other then marry for a year.


Simon will do anything to stop the wedding and he makes it very difficult for these two.  There is non stop hurdles and it makes for very interesting reading. 

I love this book from the very beginning. I liked how they came together and they knew each other. Inspite of all the obstacles that Simon put in their way, Halwyn and Grace found each other and found their love. I would recommend this book. It is a really good historical romance.

He Love Me, He Love Me Not by Christina Cole

He Love Me, He Love Me Not
By: Christina Cole
Publisher: Secret Cravings Publishing
Published: January 28, 2015
Genre:  Historical, Romance
Length: Novel
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: ReadingPatti
Date: August 10, 2015

 

After three months away at school, Emily Sue Phillips returns to Sunset eager to resume her relationship with Benjamin Brooks. The two have been sweet on each other since childhood.

But Ben isn’t there to greet her. He claims he’s “too busy” to spend time with her. When she calls on him at the horse farm where he now works, and she meets dark-haired Della White, Emily quickly figures out what’s keeping him busy.

Ben doesn’t like lying to Emily, but it’s for her own good. Trouble is lurking around him and the Henderson Horse Farm. The only way to ensure Emily’s safety is to keep her far away.

A ruthless murderer who’s been set free, an outlaw’s illegitimate daughter, and buried gold said to be worth thousands… can Ben protect Emily when her search for truth puts her in the middle of it all? Or will her snooping spell disaster for them both?


Emily Sue Phillips comes home from Denver after getting a letter from her boyfriend telling her not to return. As she is waiting for Benjamin Brooks to come and pick her up, she fights back tears when he has not shown up.

Ben finally shows up. He asks her why she came back and Emily tells Ben that she came home for the holidays to be with her family. 
He tells her to go back to Denver. Ben's actions leave Emily wondering why Ben is being so distant. She loves him but she is not sure if he even likes her anymore.

When Emily returns once again from school, Ben is now acting likes he does not love her. He won’t tell her what is going on. Ben claims that he will eventually tell her, just not right now. Emily is tired of Ben’s actions. She finally tells him how she feels.

Trouble is happening at the ranch Ben works at. Tom, the owner, won’t be run off his land. It is only when the barn is burnt down that Tom finally decides to take his family to Denver to keep them safe.  Ben wishes he could do the same with Emily.  Too bad she can be such a stubborn and willful woman.


I loved He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not. I normally don’t read many historical western romances, but this book caught my interest from the beginning. I kept reading hoping that Ben and Emily would finally get together and I wasn't disappointed. 


I liked it so much that I can't wait to read the other books in the series.   Great job Ms. Cole.

Lady Serena Gets a Man of Her Own by Marie St. James

Lady Serena Gets a Man of Her Own
By: Marie St. James
Publisher: Secret Cravings Publishing
Published: November 10, 2014
Genre: Historical, Erotic Romance
Content: M/F, F/F
Length: Short Story
Heat Level: Scorching
Reviewer: ReadingPatti
Date: August 6, 2015

 

For Lady Serena there is nothing more embarrassing than being run out of the Wynthmere townhouse because she offered her bountiful breasts to the newly married Treymont Hunt, Earl of Wynthmere. His little wife was a terror! And to add insult to injury, when she’d released her glorious boobs to offer Trey the sustenance he was not getting from his flat-chested wife, she thought she saw him smile!

But all is put to rights when Lady Serena meets the mouth watering Lord Pembroke, gets a lesson in love and passion from the new Countess Annette Wynthmere and finally learns it’s best to have a man of your own


Lady Serena Gets a Man of Her Own, is a historical novel but the sexual content was not what I expect to find in a historical romance but it was still good. 

It begins with two people who were looking for something but they didn't know where to find it. Then Lady Serena meets Lord Pembroke. It didn't take them long to get over societies obstacles. 

Lady Serena Gets a Man of Her Own was a surprise in regards to the sexual nature. I didn't expect the sexual content to be so strong. While I normally don't read erotic romance, which it was, it was not too bad. 

What I really enjoyed about their story was how Lady Serena and Lord Pembroke eventually came together. It was so great how they each found the person that they were meant to be with. Especially when they least expected it. They can't stop thinking about each other. Lady Serena wants him but on her own terms and Lord Pembroke wants to know how he can make Lady Serena marry him.  I also like how they each talked to someone about each other, asking for advice and suggestions on how they could come together. That part was funny.

While I enjoyed Lady Serena Gets a Man of Her Own, I'm not sure I would recommend it to my normal historical reading friends, but if someone wanted to add a lots of spice to their normal reading genre, then this book is for you.

Pet by Rosina Scott

Pet
By: Rosina Scott
Publisher: Secret Cravings Publishing
Published: October 21, 2014
Genre: Contemporary,  Erotic Romance
Content: M/M, BDSM, D/s, Anal Play, Anal Sex, Toys
Length: Short Story
Heat Level: Scorching
Reviewer: Gabrielle
Date: July 28, 2015

 

The Pound, is an exclusive BDSM club in downtown Los Angeles where submissives can go to seek out Dominants able to fulfill their every need, in the safety of the club’s strictly monitored playrooms, where anything goes.

It is here that sinfully submissive Damien hopes to find a Master who will dominate him and fulfill his desires. Damien longs for the day when he will find a Master he can willingly submit to in every way and cater to his Master’s every whim while exploring his own needs.

Could a chance meeting lead to more, when Damien meets the seductive and sexy dominant Gareth? In Gareth, Damien hopes he has found a Master who will respect his limits and his needs.

Could Gareth be the Dominant to fulfill the role of Master that Damien so desperately desires, and give him the collar he craves?


This short story is an engaging read about two men who are looking for more than just a hook up. Could Gareth be the man that Damien has been looking for? Has fate finally brought Damien what he has longed for? Play can be fun but will their times together bring more than just fun?

I enjoyed meeting Gareth and Damien. The two make a great couple; each man getting just what he needs from the other. Gareth is a good Dom and he understands what Damien needs and is more than willing to give it to him. Damien gives with all of his heart and only wants to please Gareth. Seeing their attraction quickly turn to more made for a nice read. As much as I liked these two men I would have liked them to be a little more fleshed out and maybe see a bit more of how they interact together. They are hot together and make you want to know and see more of the two men. More of their time in the club would have also been nice. What we see of the men only wets our appetite and had this reader longing for more.

These two men prove that you never know where or when you might find that one person who is right for you and when you do you had better not let them slip away. Gareth is not about to let Damien get away without letting him know how he feels first. It was nice to see Gareth take that step and show Damien how much he means to him. Both men endeared themselves to this reader and I hope that we get to visit their world again.


Disclosure as Per the FTC Guidlines:
All books reviewed at Got Romance! Reviews have been provided by the Publishers or Authors for free. Got Romance! Reviews has not been compensated for any reviews.
Got Romance! Reviews does not own any images, book covers or portraits on the site.
Book Cover images are from the various authors, pubishers or Goodreads
Elvin Pin-Up art were acquired from Elvgren PinUp
Hilga Pun-Up art were acquired from Toilgirls
Elvin and Hilga copyrights owned by Brown and Bigelow
Copyright © 2011. Got Romance! Reviews - All Rights Reserved
Template Creater | Proudly powered by Blogger